r residents of the Oniversity onice 1007	
George Edgar	1887 - 1892
Alvin Lewis	1892 - 1897
Albert A. Murphree	1897 - 1909
Edward Conradi	1909 - 1941
Doak S. Campbell	1941 – 1957
Albert B. Martin (Acting President)	1957
Robert M. Strozier	1957 - 1960
Milton W. Carothers (Acting President)	1960
Gordon W. Blackwell	1960 - 1965
John E. Champion (Acting President)	1965
John E. Champion	1965 – 1969
Stanley Marshall (Acting President)	1969
Stanley Marshall	1969 – 1976
Bernard F. Sliger (Interim President)	1976 – 1977
Bernard F. Sliger	1977 – 1991
Dale W. Lick	1991 – 1993
Bernard F. Sliger (Interim President)	1993
Talbot "Sandy" D'Alemberte	1994 - 2002
T.K. Wetherell	2003 - 2010
Eric J. Barron	2010 - 2014
Garnett S. Stokes (Interim President)	2014
John Thrasher	2014 - 2021
Richard McCullough	2021 -

Presidents of the University Since 1887*

*Prior to 1887, the school's executive officer was called the principal.

Source: Office of the President

Online Resource: The Office of the President's website can be accessed online at http://president.fsu.edu/

President Richard McCullough

Richard McCullough became the 16th president of Florida State University on August 16th, 2021. Prior to joining FSU, McCullough served as vice provost for research and professor of materials science and engineering at Harvard University since 2012. Previously, McCullough spent 22 years at Carnegie Mellon University where he began his academic career as an assistant professor of chemistry in 1990. At Carnegie Mellon, he developed the Greenlighting Start-ups Initiative that exponentially increased the generation of university spin-out companies and corporate engagement, adding to his rich background in entrepreneurship and innovation.

A first-generation college student from Mesquite, Texas, McCullough attended Eastfield Community College before earning a bachelor's degree in chemistry from the University of Texas at Dallas in 1982 and a doctoral degree in organic chemistry from Johns Hopkins University in 1988. He also spent two years as a postdoctoral fellow at Columbia University in New York.

He and his wife, Jai Vartikar, have two children and two granddaughters.

Leadership Team of Florida State University

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Senior Vice President - Finance and Administration	Jim Clark Kyle Clark
Vice President and Director of Athletics	Michael Alford
Vice President for Faculty Development and Advancement	Janet Kistner
Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel	Carolyn Egan
Vice President for Research	Stacey Patterson
Vice President for Student Affairs	Amy Hecht
Vice President for University Advancement and President of FSU Foundation	Marla Vickers
Vice President and Chief of Staff	Marissa Langston
Chief Legislative Affairs Officer	Clay Ingram
Assistant Vice President for University Communications	Dennis Schnittker
Chief Marketing Officer	Susannah Wesley-Ahlschwede

Online Resource: A directory for the leadership team is available online at https://president.fsu.edu/staff/